Hello

This blog is a natural continuation of a thread started on the UK Climbing forums, which posed two questions, how hard is it really to lose weight and how do you define a healthy weight/shape/size? 

For most people losing weight boils down to a simple mass balance: energy in – energy used = excess energy (which is stored as fat). Fat fascists, who often presume skinny =  fit, love this equation because it is an excuse to label anyone carrying a few extra pounds as a self-indulgent, sweaty, wheezing slob; Hurtful tho’ this maybe it does not render the 1st law of thermodynamics untrue.

How to define a healthy weight is less simple; BMI can be skewed by higher than average muscle mass, body fat percentage is difficult to measure and simple waist measurements are flawed because people store fat in different areas of their bodies. That said I suspect we all, in our hearts, know if we have too much wobbly stuff without resorting to any of the above. Personally I would like to have some muscle definition and that means getting down to at most 10% body fat, at the moment I am 91 kg ~18 % body fat so I need to lose about 8 kg; incidentally this would change my BMI from 27 to 25, just within the acceptable range, perhaps I do have some muscle after all but probably not as much as I would like to kid myself.

I started this blog to document how easy or hard, enjoyable or painful this process would be. I hope people find it interesting, helpful or even motivating please feel free to comment sharing your tips or achievements. I intend to update daily with details of diet, exercise and anything else of relevance.

Thanks

Andy

Leave a Reply

